arve henriksen

 new releases :
Over several summers Trio Mediaeval and trumpeter Arve Henriksen spent many days together by the beautiful Dalsfjorden on the Norwegian west coast, and it was there that most of the music for this recording was born. Fascinated and inspired by Icelandic sagas, beautiful chants, folk songs, religious hymns and fiddle tunes, the quartet has arranged a unique set of songs where improvisation, mediaeval and traditional music from Iceland, Norway and Sweden meet the present. Henriksen has often performed with Trio Mediaeval in live settings – and the singers and trumpeter appear on Sinikka Langeland’s recent record The Magical Forest – but Rímur is their first extensive collaboration on disc. It was recorded in February 2016 at Munich’s Himmelfahrtskirche, and produced by Manfred Eicher.
Eg gjekk ned til denne fjorden

Kjartan Hatløy tekstlesing, reading his own poetry
Arve Henriksen trompet, stemme / voice elektronikk / electronics
Erlend Apneseth hardingfele / Hardanger fiddle
Anna Maria Friman stemme / voice
  • First audio release of this fantastic norwegian poet
  • First time collaboration between the two artists
  • New composed music for this setting
  • Featuring Anna Maria Friman (voice) and Erlend Apneseth (hardanger fiddle)
  • First release on Arve Music
Now available digital download:  Download here 


Coming releases 2017:
May 5th 2017  
Solo album Towards Language 
LP, CD and digital.
Additional release:
" Chiaroscuro " on vinyl
June 2017 
Album with Chris Mapp
October 2017 
Duo album with Terje Isungset
New now on ECM:
"Rimur " with Trio Mediaveal
Other recent RELEASES:
Released on ESB records March 2017
Ellen Bødtker  -Jeg Ser"
Released on ArveMusic 21st ofNovember 2016: 
Collaboration with poet Kjartan Hatløy 
Photos by Oddleiv Apneseth
Released on Smalltown Supersound 
on the 30th of September 2016:  
Supersilent 13
Released on ECM on the 2nd of September 2016: 
Atmospheres with Tigran Hamasyan,
Eivind Aarset and Jan Bang
Released in September 2016
Phil Clemo Dream Maps

Released on ECM in August 2016:  
Sinikka Langeland The Magical Forest
Released on Mengi Records 
on the 5th of June 2016:
Trio collaboration " Saumur " 
with Hilmar Jensson and Skuli Sverrisson

Released on Rat Records 15th of May 2016: 
"Lomahongva" Warped Dreamer
Released on Losen Records Nov 2015:
Ellen Bødtker: "Sommeren der ute"
with Ellen Bødtker, Jan Erik Vold and Eirik Raude

Terje Isungset "Meditations"

New Release on Isungset´s All Ice Records. 


World of Glass is a recording where all instruments are made out of glass. 15 glass artists worked on creating instruments for two years and the result is a completely new world of sounds, art & music - melted together in one expression. And there are some delightfully unexpected glass sounds featured on this recording...

Arve Henriksen: glass horns / Terje Isungset: glass percussion.

Available on itunes and Spotify from the 22nd of October 2014
Release Concert in Umeå on the 24th of October